Ronaldo, Messi nominated for Globe Soccer 2022 awards

Typical characters nominated in the categories of Globe Soccer 2022 awards. Photo: GSA
  • The category first mentioned by Globe Soccer 2022 awards is the Best Player of the Year voted by Tiktok fans.

In this category, only eight players were nominated: Ronaldo, Messi, Benzema, Courtois, De Bruyne, Haaland, Lewandowski and Salah.

The best coach of the year category has 20 nominations, including names such as Carlo Ancelotti, Pep Guardiola, Jurgen Klopp, Jose Mourinho or Xavi.

In addition, the organizers also have 18 other categories, such as Breakthrough Player of the Year, Best Goal or Prestigious Player Representative.

Globe Soccer is an organization based in Dubai, UAE, so their award is also known as Dubai Golden Ball.

The award, which has been presented annually since 2010, is organised by the European Club Association (ECA), in collaboration with the Association of Player Representatives (EFAA) and Globe Soccer.

In the Player of the Year category, Ronaldo came out on top with six wins, and no player has won more than once.

This is the 13th time Globe Soccer has hosted the award. In 2021, more than 15 million fans and experts voted for the award. The first round of voting will begin Oct. 20, based on announced nominations.

In some categories, a panel of judges with names such as Antonio Conte, Francesco Totti, Iker Casillas, Luis Figo, Fabio Capello or Marcello Lippi will choose the winner.

The awards gala took place Thursday, November 17, at the Madinat Jumeirah resort in Dubai, three days before the 2022 World Cup kicks off in Qatar.

The organizers of the Globe Soccer Awards announced 25 best player nominations in 2022 on October 20, including superstars Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

Besides Ronaldo and Messi, the other 23 players nominated for this category are Trent Alexander-Arnold, Karim Benzema, Joao Cancelo, Casemiro, Thibaut Courtois, Kevin de Bruyne, Luis Diaz, Phil Foden, Erling Haaland, Sebastien Haller, Ciro Immobile, Vinicius Junior, Harry Kane, Joshua Kimmich, Robert Lewandowski, Riyad Mahrez, Sadio Mane, Kylian Mbappe, Luka Modric, Neymar, Christopher Nkunku, Mohamed Salah and Son Heung-min.

Please Support Alles Europa News