Haaland, Arteta the best in the Premier League in August

Mikel Arteta edged out Antonio Conte, Guardiola, Graham Potter and Marco Silva to win the best coach award on May 8.

Mikel Arteta edged out Antonio Conte, Guardiola, Graham Potter and Marco Silva to win the best coach award on May 8.

The third time arsenal’s manager won this individual title, after September 2021 and March 2022.

Under the Spanish manager, Arsenal won all five matches in August, beating Crystal Palace 2-0, Leicester 4-2, Bournemouth 3-0, Fulham 2-1 and Aston Villa 2-1 respectively to keep the top of the table.

Arteta’s achievement even surpassed the unbeaten 2003-2004 season under Arsene Wenger. At that time, Arsenal won their first four matches and were held 1-1 by Portsmouth in round 5.

Impressive results in the first month of the new season saw strikers Erling Haaland and Mikel Arteta honoured by the Premier League in the monthly awards.

Haaland surpassed pascal gross, gabriel jesus, aleksandar mitrovic, martin odegaard, nick pope, rodrigo moreno and wilfried zaha to win the best player award on August 8.

The City striker scored 9 goals through 5 matches in the first month of the Premier League season 2022-2023. During that streak, Haaland was quiet in a 4-0 win over Bournemouth – where he touched the ball 8 times and had one assist.

The Norwegian striker made his debut with a brace in a 2-0 win at West Ham.

After the match against Bournemouth, Haaland scored a goal in a 3–3 draw at Newcastle, then scored two hat-tricks in a row against Crystal Palace and Nottingham Forest.

As a result, Haaland broke a series of Premier League records, including scoring the two fastest hat-tricks, the first player to score nine goals in just the first five rounds of a season, and scoring the most goals in August.

Haaland is the tenth player to win this individual award in his first month in the Premier League, after Jurgen Klinsmann – Tottenham (August 1994), David Ginola – Newcastle (August 1995), Patrik Berger – Liverpool (August 1996), Robbie Keane – Coventry (August 1999), Diego Costa – Chelsea (August 2014), Andre Ayew – Swansea (August 2015), Anthony Martial – Man Utd (September 2015), Teamu Pukki – Norwich (August 2019), Bruno Fernandes – Man Utd (January 2020).

Haaland was thrilled to receive the award for the first time and thanked those who voted. The 22-year-old striker was pleased to be able to support City with a goal, but insists he always puts his results first.

He added: “Hopefully, I can continue to help City, make the fans happy with the performance and continue the strong start to the season. “

Coach Pep Guardiola praised Haaland for being young, classy, ambitious and will play even better in the future.

The Spain coach said: “Haaland is the perfect player to lead, a good guy and that’s the most important thing. Haaland continues to show the same quality as he has played for previous clubs. We haven’t helped Haaland much.”